“The things you own end up owning you.” – Tyler Durden

The other night as I was laying in bed, I was contemplating my life. Or rather, the life that my husband and I have built together. At 31 years old, I am about a 1/3 through my life (if I’m lucky). To be honest, I think we have done pretty good so far. We have two young children, our own home, two automobiles, two dogs, two cats. I would say we are living the “American Dream.” My husband works a well paying job and I stay home to raise the children and run my graphic design business. While we have some credit card debt, we do not have any student loan debt, and our only other debt obligations include one car payment and the mortgage.

So as I was laying there, I started to wonder if I would be happy with my life if things always stayed the same. Saying goodbye to my husband for 8 hours a day while he sits at a desk all day, always saving up money to pay off a bill or to purchase the next latest and greatest material object. When my life comes to a close, will I look back on my life with happy satisfaction? Or will I regret never doing anything extraordinary? What about my husband and children? Will I regret not maximizing our time together?

Money is obviously a necessity. Food, clothes, education, and living expenses all require money. But can we still enjoy a fulfilling life while foregoing a lot of the extra crap that people love? Do we really need multiple TVs, excessive household furnishings, and expensive restaurant meals? Can we live a fulfilling life on a fraction of our salary?

The other day, I was watching a video about how the Milky Way galaxy is set to collide with the Andromeda galaxy in approximately 4 billion years. 4 billion years. In the history of our galaxy, or even the universe, my life is nothing but a tiny speck in time. Living for the average lifespan of 78.1 year is NOTHING compared to the vast enormousness of the universe. Which brings me to one of my favorite Fight Club quotes:

“This is your life, and it’s ending one minute at a time.”

So the time has come to decide what to do with the time that we have. For starters, we have to eliminate our credit card debt. That will give us the freedom that we need to pursue whatever it is that will make us happy. Spending time together, getting the heck out of Ohio, and living simpler lives with less stress are all options.

This is our journey.

Leave a Reply

